“Standards writing and commercial enterprise is freelance of specific product testing and certification functions. Standards area unit (usually) created by freelance committees, World Health Organization then publish their rulings with the help of standards organizations like UL, ETL Listed, CE, CSA, RoHS, Razorlux and DLC. Approved standards area unit then created accessible to makers likewise as testing and certification organizations to help with style, testing, certification and diode certification.”

What the acronyms stand for:

UL: Underwriters Laboratories Inc.

CSA: Canadian Standards Association

CE: Conformance European (Communauté Européenne or Conformité Européenne)

ETL: Originally a mark of ETL Testing Laboratories, now a mark of Intertek Testing Services

What do they mean:

What does UL stand for?

Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (http://www.ul.com) is an independent, nonprofit organization that writes testing standards and tests products for safety and certifies them. UL has developed more than 800 standards for safety, and millions of products and their components are tested to UL’s safety standards.

This is one of the most common UL Listing Marks. If a product carries this Mark, Underwriters Laboratories found that samples of this product met UL’s safety requirements. These requirements are primarily based on UL’s own published Standards for Safety. This type of Mark is seen commonly on appliances and computer equipment, furnaces and heaters, fuses, electrical panelboards, smoke and carbon monoxide detectors, fire extinguishers and sprinkler systems, personal flotation devices like life jackets and life preservers, bullet resistant glass, and thousands of other products.

What does “CE” stand for?

Conformance European

The CE Mark is a requirement for products sold to the European Market. The CE Mark identifies a product as complying with the health and safety requirements spelled out in European legislation (Directives) and is mandatory for equipment operating in the European Union (EU). Once the product has received the CE Mark it can circulate freely throughout the European Union countries.

The European Commission describes the CE certification mark as a “passport” that allows manufacturers to circulate industrial products freely within the internal market of the EU. The CE mark certifies that the products have met EU health, safety and environmental requirements that ensure consumer and workplace safety. All manufacturers in the EU and abroad must affix the CE mark to those products covered by the “New Approach” directives in order to market their products in Europe. Once a product receives the CE mark, it can be marketed throughout the EU without undergoing further product modification.

What does “CSA” stand for?

Canadian Standards Association

The Canadian Standards Association (CSA) is a nonprofit association serving business, industry, government and consumers in Canada and the global marketplace. Among many other activities, CSA (www.csa.ca) develops standards that enhance public safety. A Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory, CSA is very familiar with U.S. requirements. According to OSHA (U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration) regulations, the CSA-US Mark qualifies as an alternative to the UL Mark.

Here are some areas where CSA standards are applied:

Canadian Electrical Code, Part III-Outside Wiring

Electrical Engineering Standards

Electromagnetic Compatibility


The ETL (Edison Testing Laboratories) ETL Listed Mark

The ETL, Edison Testing Laboratories, Listed Mark is proof of product compliance (electrical, gas and other safety standards) to North American safety standards.  Authorities Having Jurisdiction (AHJ’s) in 50 states and Canada and retailers accept the ETL Listed Mark as proof of product safety. 

ETL is a mark provided by Intertek and ETL Semko. Intertek (www.intertek-etlsemko.com) is a global leader in testing inspection and certification services. They are a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory and tests products to UL, CSA and CE standards.

A product bearing the ETL Listed Mark is determined to have met the requirements of prescribed product safety standards. Moreover, the mark indicates that the manufacturer’s production site conforms to a range of compliance measures and is subject to periodic follow-up inspections to verify continued conformance.

Leave a Reply